During the interwar period of the 20th century, Art Deco architecture and design was very popular among the wealthy and powerful citizens of Sint-Niklaas. The Brothers Hieronymites were also intrigued. The main building of the school in the Nieuwstraat is one of Sint-Niklaas's hidden gems.
In 1839, the congregation of the Brothers Hieronymites was established in order to create an orphanage for boys in the Nieuwstraat. Soon, a free school and a mental institution were erected as well. Systematically, the congregation took over the entire area in between Nieuwstraat, Kroonmolenstraat and Dalstraat. In 1932, the main building of the school was constructed in the Art Deco Style that was popular in bourgeois circles. The entrance hall is dominated by the multicoloured glass window depicting Christ the King, which was created by Eugeen Yours.
Today, the main building still functions as a part of the active secondary school. It's a classic stop during guided tours and it plays a part in numerous events that put the spotlight on our heritage.